TIME ATTACK ITALIA 2015 – Adria Night Racing

June 27, 2015


I competed in the latest round of the Time Attack Italia championship at Adria. The day started out late with the official event starting at 5pm, thus allowing the cars to run late into the night after some practice. I finished putting the car together that morning after having some problems getting the new 350Z braking system to feel right; spent a lot of time bleeding the brakes and ultimately managed to get them to a reasonable state.

Took just less than 3 hours to get to Adria from Bergamo and we were surprised by a pretty serious storm when approaching the track, but luckily by the time things kicked off on track the surfaces were dry again thanks to the summer heat. The scene was really impressive at Adria with 120 cars competing and some serious entries. My 2 man show (my Dad was there to help me) with a back up saloon car was pretty primitive compared to how a lot of people had come prepared.

As mentioned in other posts the car has recently gone through a bit of work and upgrade and this was going to be first time I’d drive the car in a while and test it out. The road to the track was my shakedown and brake bedding in trip, and I’m glad I made it down there in one piece.

A rough summary of what condition the car is in:

Stock SR20DET with 0.7bar T28 – 200hp approx.
1260kg approx. weight with stripped interior

For the tires I had a difficult choice to make; I could have stuck with the Bridgestone RE002 on all four corners and had a balanced setup, but I also had 2 Toyo R888s lying around. I decided to put the R888 on at the front and get a bit more grip as I can always do with more front grip! The car still felt quite balanced and had little to no understeer.

The event was setup with 3 practice sessions then a 5 lap Superlap shoot out. The best lap from the Superlap going towards your final position. The 3 practice sessions were quite short at around 15min on average. I competed in the Club RWD which is for street legal cars with stock turbo and injectors and up to 255 width semi slicks. The Club RWD Pro is the next class up but I couldn’t compete with them yet, need a lot more power.

In the end I finished second in my class (out of only 3 cars), approximately 1 second behind first. The other 2 cars were S2000s. My preliminary time is 1:36.95 as the official result times haven’t been posted yet.

Photos by Tony Smith.

Overall had no major problems with the car and didn’t really have to touch the car between sessions. Had a little rubbing early on as this was a new wheel setup, which required the front fenders to be pulled out a bit. You can tell from the video that some rubbing remained.

I now look forward to the next event in July at Varano!

Leave a Reply

