FSAE 2010 CR: Routine

July 1, 2010


Photobucket

I’m overloading with the Formula Student posts. In a perfect world I’d like to be talking about my next project car now that the Celica is gone, but to be honest I haven’t event started looking for one. I’m dying for a new car but I’ve got other things to do right now; one of them is of course to concentrate on Formula Student, secondly to relax this summer and then back to Uni. I really don’t need to use a car here and having one just for the odd months I’m home in Italy seems a bit pointless. But regardless of this I do plan on starting to look for one this winter and see how things go from there, probably just keep “this next car” at home in Italy uninsured until I feel like it’s good enough to rock.

In the mean time, back to Formula Student.

Photobucket

The Formula Student event, which takes place at Silverstone in July, consists of several smaller “events”. As well as all the design and construction judging there are a few performance tests:

– Acceleration, basically a 75m drag.
– Figure of 8, self explanatory.
– Sprint, a course is set out and the teams must complete it in the fastest time possible.
– Endurance, a 20 minute-ish race using the course. The drivers must be swapped out once.

Today we went back to the old runway type things at Llandow to practice some Sprint and Acceleration.
Apart from the weather being shit and the engine not wanting to stay alive sometimes, all was ok.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We need a total of 4 drivers to compete at the event, as one driver can take part in a maximum of 2 events. I’m probably doing the endurance and another. So today 2 other drivers stepped into the car for the first time which allowed to me to take some photos, most of which at a too low shutter speed.

Photobucket

Stealth bum training so that when Ross Brawn or any other Racing celebrity may inspect our car at the event, we are ready to pounce.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I think I might carry on the Silvia awesomeness thing I had going on…

Leave a Reply

