They’re On To Something…

February 16, 2010


…, KIA.

Photobucket

A couple of years ago KIA teamed up with Continental Italy and entered the Nurburgring 24h in a street legal car. I know there have been a few of these entries before but I couldn’t find any info on them. Basically, the team drove the car from Milan to Nurburg, raced and then drove back again. Pretty insane considering the car had no mechanical problems and they did quite well. They also used the stock street tires throughout the race. I actually bought an Elaborare magazine where they documented their journey.

Photobucket

Your probably wondering why I’m posting a barely tuned KIA on here, but I do wish more people actually did this. I would like to see a street legal class which has to use road legal tires with regulations close to those in Time Attack, something which attracts Tuners instead of racing teams. Let me put a picture in your head: a Mine’s Skyline R34 racing against a Top Secret Supra at the ring. Ok. I think one of the reasons why I love Time Attack is because they use street legal tires. This is definitely something that I would love to do, I think I would use a tuned EK or EG Civic with some hard compound Semi Slicks and do as they do and drive it from home and back. Could be cheap, maybe…

Anyway…

Leave a Reply

